Nominations are now open for the 2018-2019 academic year

Provost's Awards

Provost's Award for Excellence Seal


The Provost's Awards were established in 1993 because outstanding teaching, research and service are central to the mission of Fresno State and because the dedication of our professorial faculty deserves special recognition.  Recipients of the Provost's Awards provide our students with a stimulating environment that fosters learning and affirms the university as the intellectual and cultural leader of the San Joaquin Valley. The purpose of the Provost's Awards is to honor those faculty members who set new standards of excellence and represent the heart of this great university.

Provost's Awards Recipients 2017-2018

Excellence in Teaching

Paul Price, Professor of Psychology

Faculty Service

Carolyn Cusick, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Research, Scholarship and Creative Accomplishment

Qiao-Hong Chen, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Andrew Fiala, Professor of Philosophy


Rajee Amarasinghe, Professor of Mathematics

Promising New Faculty

Zhanna Bagdasarov, Assistant Professor of Management

Qin Fan, Assistant Professor of Economics

Maziar Ghazinejad, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Ignacio Hern√°ndez, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership

Veena Howard, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Outstanding Lecturer

Mary Husain, Department of Communication