Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Learn about our plans for Fall 2020 and updates about COVID-19. Before coming to campus, take the COVID-19 Daily Screening

Emeriti Faculty

Emeritus status is an honorary title awarded for distinguished service to the academic community. The President may bestow the title on a tenured faculty member or on an administrator who is entering permanent retirement and who has served the University with distinction. Bestowal of emeritus status is a distinctive honor and emeriti faculty are regarded as an important and integral part of the university community.

Department of English emeriti

Linnea Alexander (1983-2015) 
Craig Bernthal (1988)
Cheng Lok Chua (1986-2010) 
Lillian Faderman (1967-2007) 
Corrinne Hales (1986-2020)
Charles Hanzlicek (1966-2001) 
Barry Logan (1961-1992) 
John McDermott (1969-1996) 
H. Ray McKnight (1965-1997) 
Robert O’Neil (1957-1992) 
Stanley Poss (1956-1995) 
Judith Rosenthal (1971-2007) 
Walter Stuart (1967-1988) 
Michael G. Tate (1970-2010)
Clare-Marie Wall (1988-2016)
Steve Yarbrough (1988-2009) 
Eugene Zumwalt (1959-1999)

Department of English emeriti (deceased)

Robert Billings (1957-1989)
Gene Bluestein (1963-1991)
Roger Chittick (1956-1988)
Peter Everwine (1962-1991)
James Frey (1969-1994)
Andrew Hart (1965-2003) 
Harold Karr (1966-1985) 
Carolton H. Larrabee (1947-1969) 
Philip Levine (1958-1992)
Martin Paul (1967-2006)
Jean Pickering (1970-2004)
Andrew Simmons (1970-2002)
James E. Walton (1990-2018)