Advising

All MCJ students are assigned an adviser when they enter the department. Meeting regularly with faculty to discuss course selection, general education and other academic requirements is crucial to ensure degree progress. It is important to speak with an adviser at least once a semester, and it is a good idea for students to bring a current Degree Progress Report (DPR) with them to their meeting. The DPR can be pulled online from students’ accounts at http://my.fresnostate.edu.

For a list of Liberal Arts and Science classes for the General Education requirement, click here: Liberal Arts and Science Courses

Click below for your roadmap:

IMPORTANT NOTE ON THE WRITING REQUIREMENT: If your option requires you to take MCJ102W, you MUST take this class. If you do not take 102W, you must take the writing exam (Title V of the State Writing Requirements) in order to graduate. If you have questions, please contact MCJ department chair Dr. Kathy Adams at:kathya@csufresno.edu

The adviser is usually someone who teaches in the student’s option. Below is a list of current advisers.

Don’t delay in meeting with your adviser!

These are important times to meet with your adviser:

  • As soon as you declare MCJ as your major.
  • At least once a semester — well before your registration appointment.
  • Once you have completed 60-75 units.
  • The semester before your planned graduating semester and during the first two weeks of your graduating semester.

MCJ Advisers

Area of Study Name Contact Info
Advertising/Advertising Certificates  Dr. Roberta Asahina  MCF 232 
278-5704 
robertaa@csufresno.edu
Broadcast Journalism (A-M)  Faith Sidlow  SA 140i
278-4868
fmsidlow@csufresno.edu
Broadcast Journalism (N-Z) Dr. Tamyra Pierce SA 140H 
278-2632 
tpierce@csufresno.edu
Multimedia/Electronic Media Jes Therkelsen  SA 140A
278-5078
jtherkelsen@csufresno.edu
Multimedia/Interdisciplinary Minor in Media Arts/Minor in Media, Communications and Journalism   Candace Egan  SA 140C 
278-5070 
candace@csufresno.edu
Print Journalism  Dr. Bradley Hart

SA 150
278-1160 
brhart@csufresno.edu

 Print Journalism  Dr. Gary Rice   MCF 233 
278-2026 
grice@csufresno.edu
 Public Relations  Betsy Hays  MCF 231 
278-6154 
bhays@csufresno.edu