Advising

All MCJ students are assigned an adviser when they enter the department. Meeting regularly with faculty to discuss course selection, general education and other academic requirements is crucial to ensure degree progress. It is important to speak with an adviser at least once a semester, and it is a good idea for students to bring a current Degree Progress Report (DPR) with them to their meeting. The DPR can be pulled online from students’ accounts at http://my.fresnostate.edu.

These are important times to meet with your adviser:

  • As soon as you declare MCJ as your major.
  • At least once a semester — well before your registration appointment.
  • Once you have completed 60-75 units.
  • The semester before your planned graduating semester and during the first two weeks of your graduating semester.

For Students Who Entered Fresno State Fall 2020 And Beyond

Click below for your roadmap:

To view a PowerPoint on how to use the roadmaps and the My Degree Plan feature, click here

Advisers

Advisors
Area of Study Name Contact Info

Advertising/PR (A-M)

Dr. Nancy Van Leuven

MCF 231

nancyvanleuven@csufresno.edu

Advertising/PR (N-Z)

Dr. Wes Wise

MCF 232

weswise@csufresno.edu

Broadcast Journalism

(A-M)

Faith Sidlow

SA 140I

fmsidlow@csufresno.edu

Broadcast Journalism

(N-Z)

Dr. Carey Higgins-Dobney

SA 140C

careyh@csufresno.edu

Digital Journalism (A-M)

Tim Drachlis

MCF 234

drachlis@csufresno.edu

Digital Journalism (N-Z)

Dr. Bradley W. Hart

MCF 233

brhart@csufresno.edu

Film and Creative Media

(A-GE)

CAH Advising Center

Krista Hall

SA 156

278-4597

kristah@csufresno.edu

Film and Creative Media

(GI-OJ)

CAH Advising Center

Nadia Margison

 

SA 156

278-4597

nmargison@csufresno.edu

 

Film and Creative Media

(OL-Z)

CAH Advising Center

Felicia Salcido

 

SA 156

278-4597

fsalcido@csufresno.edu

 

 

For Students Who Entered Fresno State Before Fall 2020

Click below for your roadmap:

To view a PowerPoint on how to use the roadmaps and the My Degree Plan feature, click here

IMPORTANT NOTE ON THE WRITING REQUIREMENT: If your option requires you to take MCJ 102W, you MUST take this class. If you do not take 102W, you must take the writing exam (Title V of the State Writing Requirements) in order to graduate. If you have questions, please contact MCJ department chair Betsy Hays at: bhays@csufresno.edu. Please note that a Departmental Qualification Exam no longer is required to enroll in MCJ 2. 

 

Advisers

Advisers
Area of Study Name Contact Info

Advertising/Public Relations

Betsy Hays

MCF 238

278-6154
bhays@csufresno.edu

Broadcast Journalism (A-M) 

Faith Sidlow 

SA 140I
278-4868
fmsidlow@csufresno.edu

Broadcast Journalism (N-Z)

Dr. Carey Higgins-Dobney

SA 140C
278-6238
careyh@csufresno.edu

Multimedia Production

CAH Advising Center

SA 156

278-4597

 

Digital Journalism 

CAH Advising Center

SA 156
278-4597