Clendenin Brass Quintet

Dr. Thomas Hiebert, Director

brass quintet

The Clendenin Brass Quintet

The Clendenin Brass Quintet is a scholarship ensemble funded by the generosity of the Clendenin Family of Boulder, Colorado. Dr. W. Ritchie Clendenin served as the trumpet professor and previous director of the group. He retired in 2002 after a distinguished teaching and performing career at Fresno State spanning 28 years. Following Dr. Clendenin’s retirement in 2002 Dr. Michael Caldwell served as director of the Clendenin Brass Quintet from 2002-2010; the directorship was then passed on to Dr. Nathan Soberalski during the academic year 2010-11. Currently the group is directed by Dr. Thomas Hiebert.

Selected by audition, the ensemble has earned reputation for excellence in brass chamber music. The group performs numerous concerts during the year, along with serving in a ceremonial and entertainment capacity on campus and throughout the community.


The members of the quintet are:

Ryan Vance (Trumpet, Junior, Instrumental Music Education Major)
Patrick Jensen (Trumpet, Sophomore, Trumpet Performance Major)
Anthony Perez (Horn, Sophomore, Instrumental Music Education Major)
Andrew Watkins (Trombone/Euphonium, Junior, Jazz Performance Major)
Daniel Larsen (Tuba/Bass Trombone, Senior, Tuba Performance Major)


quintet group