Faculty and Staff

The Department of Music full-time and part-time faculty has backgrounds in varied areas of specialization. Many members of the faculty have national and international reputations as performing artists and teachers. Others are well known for their scholarly research, articles, and books. They are all dedicated to providing students with the best music education possible both in their classes and studios.

Administration

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Department Chair)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 134 Coming Soon
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Graduate Program Coordinator)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242 Coming Soon

Top

Woodwind

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Teresa Beaman Teresa Beaman
(Flute)
teresab@csufresno.edu MB 244 Coming Soon
Alan Durst Alan Durst
(Saxophone)
Jazz Orchestra/
Jazz Ensemble/

adurst@csufresno.edu MB 142 Coming Soon
Larry Gardner Larry Gardner
(Bassoon)
larryg@csufresno.edu MB 174 Coming Soon
Miles Ishigaki Miles Ishigaki
(Clarinet)
milesi@csufresno.edu MB 146 Coming Soon
No Picture Rachel Aldrich
(Oboe)
raldrich@csufresno.edu MB 155 Coming Soon

Top

Brass

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
No Picture Joel Elias
(Trombone/
Euphonium)
joelias@csufresno.edu MB 224  
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Horn and Theory)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240  
Ed Hull Ed Hull
(Tuba)
ehull@csufresno.edu MB 224  
Picture Not Available Nathan Sobieralski
(Trumpet)
nsobieralski@csufresno.edu MB 224  

Top

Percussion

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Percussion)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 144  
Brian Hamada Brian Hamada
(Percussion)
bhamada@csufresno.edu MB 134  
David Gabrielson Dave Gabrielson
(Percussion)
dgabrielson@csufresno.edu MB 137  

 Top

Strings

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Richard Giddens Jr Richard Giddens Jr
(Jazz String Bass/Jazz Combo)
rgiddensjr@csufresno.edu MB 134  
Thomas Loewenheim Thomas Loewenheim
(Cello)
Symphony Orchestra
tloewenheim@csufresno.edu MB 165  
Limor Toren-Immerman Limor Toren-Immerman
(Violin/Viola)
ltoren@csufresno.edu MB 161  
Corey Whitehead Corey Whitehead
(Guitar)
cwhitehead@csufresno.edu MB 150  
Bruce Bransby

Bruce Bransby

(String Bass)

bbransby@csufresno.edu MB 165  

Top

Voice

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Cari Earnhart Cari Earnhart
(Director of Choral Activities)
cearnhart@csufresno.edu MB 148  
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(University Singers)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218  
Brigid deJong Brigid deJong
(Voice)
bdejong@csufresno.edu MB 243  
Anna Hamre Anna Hamre
(Voice) Fresno Community Chorus
ahamre@csufresno.edu MB 253  
Anthony P. Radford Anthony P. Radford
(Voice)
Area Coordinator,
Opera Theatre
aradford@csufresno.edu MB 163  
Maria Briggs Maria Briggs
(Voice/Opera)
mbriggs@csufresno.edu MB 173  

Top

Keyboard

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Lenore Hiebert Lenore Hiebert
(Piano/Ensemble)
lenoreh@csufresno.edu MB 155  
Andreas Werz Andreas Werz
(Piano)
andreasw@csufresno.edu MB 159  

Top

Theory and Composition

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Benjamin Boone Benjamin Boone
(Theory and Composition)
bboone@csufresno.edu MB 248

 Teaching Abroad

 

Kenneth Froelich Kenneth Froelich
(Theory and Composition)
kfroelich@csufresno.edu MB 250  
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Horn and Theory)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240  
  Bryce Cannell
(Music Theory)
 brycecannell@csufresno.edu MB 248  

Top

Pop/Rock/Jazz

 

Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours

Roger Gonzales

Roger Gonzales rogonzales@csufresno.edu MB 172  

Craig VonBerg

Craig VonBerg cvonberg@csufresno.edu MB 172  

Top

Music Education

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
No Picture Sandra Giersch
(Music Ed)
sgiersch@csufresno.edu MB 115  
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Music Ed)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218  
Tony Mowrer Tony Mowrer
(Music Ed Coordinator)
tmowrer@csufresno.edu MB 246  
Ed Hull Ed Hull
(Music Ed)
ehull@csufresno.edu  MB 224  
No Picture Randy Hyatt
(Music Ed)
rahyatt@csufresno.edu MB 134  

Top

Music History and Ethnomusicology

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Ethnomusicology)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242  
John Karr John Karr
(Music History and
Ethnomusicology)
jkarr@csufresno.edu MB 238  
No Picture Partow Hooshmandrad
(Ethnomusicology)
phooshmandrad@csufresno.edu MB 216  Sabbatical Fall 2017
No Picture Max Hembd (Ethnomusicology) mhembd@csufresno.edu MB 174  

Top

Ensemble Directors

  Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Thomas Hiebert Thomas Hiebert
(Director Clendenin Brass Quintet)
tomh@csufresno.edu MB 240  
Matthew Darling Matthew Darling
(Director of Percussion Ensemble)
matthewd@csufresno.edu MB 144  
Alan Durst Alan Durst
(Director of Jazz Orchestra/
Jazz Ensemble/
Jazz Combos)
adurst@csufresno.edu MB 142  
Gary Gilroy Gary P. Gilroy
(Director of Bands/
Wind Orchestra)
garygi@csufresno.edu MB 140  
Cari Earnhart Cari Earnhart
(Director of Choral Activities)
cearnhart@csufresno.edu MB 148  
Donald Henriques Donald Henriques
(Director of Mariachi Ensemble)
dhenriques@csufresno.edu MB 242  
Thomas Loewenheim Thomas Loewenheim
(Director of Orchestra/
String Quartet)
tloewenheim@csufresno.edu MB 165  
Dr. Emily Mason Emily Mason
(Director of Men's and Women's Chorus)
emason@csufresno.edu MB 218  
Anthony P. Radford Anthony P. Radford
(Director of Opera Theater)
aradford@csufresno.edu MB 163  
Teresa Beaman Teresa Beaman
(Director of President's Quintet)
teresab@csufresno.edu MB 244  
Corey Whitehead Corey Whitehead
(Director of Guitar Ensemble)
cwhitehead@csufresno.edu MB 150  
McKeithen Steven McKeithen
(Associate Director of Bands)
smckeithen@csufresno.edu MB 139  

Top

Teaching Associates

Name Email Office Location Fall 2017 Office Hours
Rebecca Messer
(Music 20)
rmesser@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 134 Coming Soon
Mason Lamb (Music 9) masonl@mail.fresnostate.edu MB 166 Coming Soon
Daniel Ruiz (Music 9) cacatua_89@mail.fresnostate.edu   Coming Soon

Top

Graduate Assistants

Name Email Phone Office Location
Joseph Cargill
(Symphony Orchestra Assistant)
jazz4life88@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2821 MB 188
Patricia Fronda
(Wind Librarian)
pafronda@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2821 MB 188
Alejandra Tejeda
(Recording Assistant)
squishorama@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2917 MB 228
Bill Samuelson
(Instrument Tech)
bsamuelson@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.6941 MB 191
Matthew Wheeler (Accompanist) matthewwheelermusic@mail.fresnostate.edu   MB 134

Top

Music Support Staff

Name Email Phone Office Location
Sindi McGuire
(Administrative Support Coordinator)
smcguire@csufresno.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Audrey Rodriguez
(Financial Administrator)
aurodriguez@csufresno.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Jose M. ElaGarza
(
Recording Arts Technician)
elagarza@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2917 MB 228
Eileen Zacharczyp
(University Bands Administrative Assistant)
ezacharczyp@csufresno.edu 559.278.5086 MB 138
Andrew Quiring
(Collaborative Accompanist)
dquiring@csufresno.edu 559.278.7495 MB 222
JoungMin Sur
(Collaborative Accompanist)
sjmin@csufresno.edu 559.278.5090 MB 220
Christopher Rodriguez
(Choral Music Assistant)
rodriguezcrb@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2821 MB 188
Andrew Watkins
(Instrument Shop Assistant)
  559.278.6941 MB 191
Terry Barrett
(Piano/Instrument Technician)
terrybarrett@csufresno.edu 559.278.6941 MB 191
Marc McGhee (Choral Assistant)     MB 147
Christopher Rodriguez
(Choral Music Librarian)
rodriguezcrb@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2821 MB 188
Yesenia Avianeda
(Office Student Assistant)
music@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Arturo Lopez-Puga
(Office Student Assistant)
twotiedbones97@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2654 MB 134
Khushal Jobanputra
(Webmaster)
khushaljobanputra@mail.fresnostate.edu 559.278.2564 MB 134

Top