Philosophy, Minor


Department of Philosophy

Philosophy Minor Requirements

The Minor in Philosophy consists of 15 units in philosophy, of which at least 9 units must be upper division. Philosophy courses taken to satisfy the minor must be letter-graded.

Note: The Philosophy Minor also requires a 2.0 GPA and 6 upper-division units in residence.


The department has a diverse and well-trained faculty with special interests ranging from logic and scientific method to existentialism and philosophy of religion. All members of the department share the conviction that the best way to teach philosophy is through an intense but sympathetic interchange between the teacher and the student.

For faculty phone numbers and e-mail, see the campus directory.

For more on the faculty, see the faculty pages.
The faculty pages are updated by the department or program.