Dr. Robert Monke earns the Arthur Safstrom Service Award

Watch Video | View Photo Gallery

The problems facing America and the world are numerous, but according to Dr. Robert Monke, the solution is simple.

“A good education is what is going to make America go or not go. Now more than ever.”

In this spirit, Monke has dedicated his career and retirement to improving educational opportunities for students in the San Joaquin Valley by supporting the Kremen School of Education and Human Development at Fresno State.

Monke came to Fresno State as a faculty member in 1969 after earning a Ph.D. in counseling at Arizona State University. During his career he focused on counseling and teacher preparation, gender equity and diversity and community collaboration for improved learning. In 1985 he was named associate dean of the Kremen School and served as interim dean from 1988-1989 and 1996-1997.

Monke was instrumental in the development, construction and relocation into the school’s current building on Maple and Shaw avenues in 1994. He has served on numerous boards to enhance the teacher credential program at Fresno State. In 1993, Monke helped develop the concept of the Teacher and Friends of Education Honor Wall outside of the Kremen School and served as the chair of the Bricks Committee for more than 20 years. To date that project has raised nearly $332,000 to improve educational technology used to prepare future teachers. His colleagues established a scholarship in his name to support future teachers and counselors. That fund is currently up to $36,000 and continues to grow.

Monke retired in 2002 but never stopped giving back to the University. He currently serves on the Kremen Alumni Chapter Board, helping to drive one of the most engaged alumni chapters at Fresno State.


2015 Top Dog Alumni Awards Videos

Marvin A. Meyers (1956), Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology

Mark Anthony Scott (1980), College of Arts and Humanities

Elaine Mason (1947), Department of Athletics

Kyle T. Stephenson (1974), Craig School of Business

Robert Aguilar (1962), Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Diana Gomez (1988), Lyles College of Engineering

Robin Johnston McGehee (1998), Division of Graduate Studies

Stuart R. Katzman (1987), College of Health and Human Services

Geraldine Tahajian (1965), Henry Madden Library

Scott Barton (1982), College of Science and Mathematics

Diana S. Dooley (1972), College of Social Sciences

Ryan Jacobsen (2002, 2004), Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Management