Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

The Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology

Industrial Technology Student Spotlight: Fernando Nuño Pulido

Fernando Nuño Pulido

1) I graduated with my Master's Degree in Industrial Technology in December 2020. 

2) My Research project: Due to the ongoing pandemic, Fresno State has had to halt any in-person tours of the campus. This has already led to a decrease in the enrollment of the university because of the inability to interest potential students with our beautiful campus. In order to solve this issue, I began working on a small-scale robot that could show potential students around the campus autonomously. I finished a robot that was able to "walk" (using wheels) to predetermined points. The continuation of the research is being done by my department after I finished the first robot. 

3) I've had an interest in robotics and automation since I started college but having the Pandemic begin in my second-to-last semester made me want to solve a problem that was very new to our University. 

4) I am working with a professor of the Industrial Technology department, Dr. Zhang. I took several of his robotics classes along with a class based around Artificial Intelligence. Dr. Zhang provided me with a lot of support in many facets of the project since he is very well-versed in computing languages and robotics. 

5) From this project I have learned that persistence is very much a key to success. No matter what the problems are in your project or in your life, you must try and try again if necessary. Many times my code did not work, but many times I tried again until I found an acceptable solution. The second thing that this project taught me is that I very much enjoy solving problems that are brand-new or coming up with solutions that are experimental in nature; innovation drives me to shorten words. I hope to use and showcase these skills in my future career.